BEFORE I BIRTH A CHILD, THE CASE AGAINST THE AFRICAN

the best smiles...

I like to think that I am something of an African intellectual. At least, that is the goal. But my defense of African Tradition, my rejection of the western imperialist, yet harmlessly christened Universal Human rights philosophy, my deep respect for my ancestors- all these-have not, and will not deter me from placing the African world view too under a microscope.

That one advocates Cultural relativism does not mean that one is morally neutral or that one holds every view and position on issues of morality to be equally valid. So I hasten to clarify the seeming contradiction between being of the cultural relativist school and being an advocate for Africa for the term ‘cultural relativist’ definitely does evoke images of an impartial umpire. Being of the cultural relativist persuasion, my position is that all civilizations evolve various means of solving the largely similar human problems and that no solution…

View original post 564 more words

